Industrial Design and a NEW way to order One of a Kind Designs!

INDUSTRIAL DESIGN

vintage

I have always loved the time-worn look and feel of Industrial design! The combination of old rusty metal and worn woods, peeling paint and the use of simple lines help me imagine the industrial era of long ago.

OldFactory

There is a warmth and  grounded feel to this design. I could spend hours in the antique stores that showcase these kinds of fixtures and furniture. It was fun going through my leather stash and trying to create the industrial look.

ind01ind04

This bag is currently available in the Porteen Gear Etsy Store.ind03

While I was working on this look, I kept going with some more flap designs. I was  digging through my pieces of unique leathers, some of which I only have a small amount. Since my business is online, my customers cannot see these cool and funky pieces of leather. So I decided to try something new! I have created a section in my Etsy Store called DESIGN BY FLAP. I design the flap, I suggest 9 Accent Fabrics to go along with it and you can pick the rest of the options in a custom order already set-up. Most of these will be a One Time, one of a kind design. I have saved many of the unique branded parts of the hides like in the sample below, and I will try to keep this going with 4 or 5 unique designs a week:

009adesign

Choice Overload

Wiki Definition: Having more choices, on the surface, appears to be a positive development; however it hides an underlying problem: faced with too many choices, consumers have trouble making optimal choices, and thus as a result can be indecisive, unhappy, and even refrain from making the choice (purchase) at all.

One of the top complaints that I get from customers: “There are so many fabrics, I am overwhelmed trying to design my custom bag.”

I think that my addiction to fabric and leathers has actually caused an overwhelming experience when trying to design a Porteen gear bag. I spend many hours a day advising my customers on which colors, leathers and fabrics  go together.  I think the DESIGN BY FLAP way of ordering will help everyone, with fewer choices along with Porteen Gear’s recommendations for leather and fabric combinations. For those brave souls……you are still welcome to dive into the complete fabric lists.

Leave a comment